Meeting the Entrepreneurs and Hazards of a Busy Life


Before the collapse of my immune system I had managed to do at least some useful things.

As I mentioned at the end of my video (if anyone was patient enough to reach the end) I was asked to write a blog about an event called Meet The Entrepreneur.

Here they are, the wonderful men with the big brains

And here is the blog for the event. As a firm believer in the power of the digital word above the printed word, I was more than happy to write it pro bono.So thanks to the good people of the UNSW Centre of Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

Actually I had turned up at the event for a completely different purpose. I was writing an article about entrepreneurship education in Australia for uni, and it seemed relevant  (it wasn’t). I remember turning up and  thinking “what the fuck?” when I saw that every person there was casually sporting corporate attire (I was sporting a baby blue sweater and ever so slightly ripped jeans). In other words I stood out like a (blue) beacon.

Anyway I did have fun as the token misfit because that’s the reason I got noticed and asked to contribute. Oh and I got to interview Valerie Khoo who happens to own the Sydney Writers Centre (where, incidentally, I had done a writing course years back).

Did I get anything out of the event for myself? You may ask. Why yes. Yes I did.

I realised that I never want a job that forces me to wear corporate/business clothes. Ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, entrepreneurship, journalism

Leave a Reply

