Writing Digital Resumes


There is so much written about the art of resume writing. How to make it sound good, how to emphasize the good and tuck the bad under the carpet. Which verbs are the most effective, which ones are not. What duties to describe, how to phrase achievements and boast without boasting. Whether to provide references/date of birth/extra curricular activities or hide them to avoid bias from the interviewer. Blah blah.

What no one seems to get told about now, is that the most awesomest pedantically written resume will result in zilch if the writer of the said resume has a shitty facebook page or an inappropriate Twitter account. For example a seemingly able female psychiatrist didn’t get a job after the recruitment agent saw indecent photos of her on facebook (here’s the article). Fast Company even offers you tips on how to sensor your social media when you’re job hunting…just in case.

Think I’m exaggerating? Think again:

Because that is what’s going to be looked at by employers now and in the future. Hell it might even become a compulsory slot in the application process “please provide fb and twitter account details”. So just as in all other areas of our lives its time to adapt and innovate, especially as users of digital.

This guy agrees with me:

To counterbalance the horror of social media self censoring you can spice up your resume with the joy of digital creativity.

I get particularly twitchy and irritable when I have to write a really dry application for anything (probably because I’ve applied to so so many random things in my life). That’s led me to stop giving a f*_*k  start being creatively free.

For example in my application to the Peace Conference of the Youth in Japan, I decided to push interactivity.

In other words I did what I do in my blog posts (and what countless websites do) and attached a heap of hyperlinks to illustrate what I’m talking about. It is possible that my application will thrown out in disgust because I dared to do something unexpected and disturbingly different to the application instructions. But I figured I have the right to some creativity after having to suffer the torture of application questions like,

“What are your main interests under the present social situation?  Why?”

I mean, c’mon, WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?

Anyway as I toiling away, writing, finding examples and hyperlinking them into the text, I realized that I was having fun. I was also reaching out to the people who will (hopefully) read my application, in a way that made my application more relevant and alive to them. I was giving them more reasons to keep reading by  engaging them on a deeper level.

If I had more time I would have made a YouTube video to include in that application. Just to make it clear, I exist, this is who I am, these are my passions and skills.

Think about it. It’s the perfect way to sell yourself. You have all the control. You can edit, do a 1000 takes until you get it right. The same with the text. Unlimited attempts. Hyperlink this, double check relevance. Delete or retain. So simple.

To conclude:

  1. Use social media responsibly
  2. Innovate your resume
Leave a comment

Filed under communication, digital media, digital technology, facebook, social media, strategy

Leave a Reply

