Twitter-Where Art Thou?


It always baffles me when I see a company website that does not have a twitter account. That’s so much additional exposure lost, yet I see this again and again on Australian websites. Let’s face it people, Australians don’t like Twitter. I can say this with certainty, having heard it said repeatedly at:

1. University (UNSW): My media lectures bring up this deficiency whenever they have the chance saying something like “But of course no one in Australia really uses Twitter” with a  condescending snicker of  disapproval. (UNSW of course has Twitter)

2. Journalists: Annabel Crabb (writing for ABC’s The Drum) and Julie Posetti have both bagged out other journalists for being caveman-like in their ignorance about new media and especially Twitter.

3. People @ TCO (where I intern): When I timidly suggested that they use Twitter to promote their clients, they shook their heads sadly and told me it would never work. It wouldn’t be worth it. “People don’t really use Twitter in Australia”.

I was doing a news story on climate change (why, why,why the hell did I pick that twisted spiderweb as a topic??) and saw that both companies I interviewed for the story didn’t have a Twitter account. I think of it as an opportunity lost, even if not many individuals use Twitter. Companies should still do everything they can to get exposure for their services. Have a look;

Company #1: CO2 Australia: is a carbon offsetting service for companies. Has a blog, yet no Twitter. I would rather look at Twitter than read a long blog entry. Especially if the company is new to me.  Especially if I am another company that HAS Twitter and I am looking at CO2’s services.

Company #2: Get Up! Australia: is a grassroots NGO. Their goal is to hold governments accountable for their policies. And have heaps of ppl join up. No Twitter though.

To me its simple. Yes not many people here use Twitter. Or they have an account and don’t log on (most of my friends are like that). But all people search for services online at one time or another. If they see that little ‘join us on twitter’ thing on the page often enough, they might just do that. And companies might just benefit. Like they do in America.

Everyone wins. So use the damn thing.

Here’s a quick video about why Twitter matters. This dude is way better at explaining it than I am

Leave a comment

Filed under communication, digital media, digital technology, social media, strategy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

