University – the digital playground


As I was walking down the billion sets of stairs of UNSW it became blatantly clear to me that this place is a viral gold mine.In the nearly empty evening time campus people are scattered randomly along sides of buildings, benches and even toilets surfing the net, sending emails or skyping family members from india, russia and china. And that’s freakin awesome.

SO I had to stop and blog about it before the revelation flew out of my mind. The fact that I am now sitting down on random uni lawns, yet still effortlessly connected to the web kinda reinforces my point. I can almost feel myself entering a bizzare invisible digital air as soon as I step on campus. I can do my work anywhere, sitting or lying down, standing up or in a lecture. As a very impatient high strung, twitchy person I get really bored really fast during class. So now I can do my assessments, looking up academic articles or read the news. And I don’t feel guilty because if anything I am being more proactive and learning more than I would from the bloody lecture.

The amazing thing is I have seen incredible change, a drift to digital technology in universities that is far above what I expected. In 2006 the thought of having constant internet access in uni was highly improbable and the deficit of power plugs for lap tops killed any desire to drag one with me. Now I have an iPad which is not only light as a feather in comparison but I can also charge it practically anywhere on campus.

I just spent 3 hours engorged in a PR report at the library which has created a study space designed almost specifically for free agent internet users. Comfy chairs and long wide benches that you can climb like stairs and stretch out on. And of course power plugs galore, everywhere.

To summarise: I am just so happy that my short attention span in lectures now has a cure and always will from now on. And that I can blog my thoughts while lying down on grass.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, digital media, digital technology

Leave a Reply

